Starting July 1, the minimum wage will increase for all tipped and non-tipped workers in the Cook County area. In accordance with a press release from Mayor Lori Lightfoot’s office, the minimum hourly wage for tipped workers at small businesses (AKA any 4-20 employees) will increase to $8.70. For large businesses (With 21 or more employees), the minimum hourly wage will go up to $9.24 an hour. Wages for non-tipped employees at larger businesses will be $15.40, while those working at a smaller place of business can expect $14.50 an hour. The minimum wage increase is set to occur every July 1 of the year, per the Minimum Wage Ordinance set out by the city.
Happening in tandem, City officials will also be implementing regular enhancements to its Fair Workweek Ordinance, making it so that employers in specific industries (like hotels and restaurants) will have to post work schedules at least two weeks in advance, as the previous rule only called for a 10 days notice. The update to the ordinance will also makes it so that employees who earn less than $29.35 per hour or under $57,000 per year will become eligible for protection under the ordinance.
As it stands now, Cook County has its own Minimum Wage Ordinance, and regulations, which will also increase wages on July 1. This will only apply to the county, not the entire city. In Cook County, the wage increase will apply only for over 18 employees if they have worked for an employer in Cook County for at least 2 hours in any two-week period, the employer has four or more employees, and the employer maintains a business facility in Cook County or is issued a business license by Cook County.
Currently, the minimum wage in Cook County is $13 for non-tipped employees and $6.60 for tipped employees. On July 1, those hourly rates will go up to $13.35 for non-tipped workers and $7.40 for tipped workers.
All teenagers under the age of 18 working in Cook County will still be paid Illinois’ current minimum wage, $9.25. Next year, on January 1, the minimum wage for workers under 18 will increase to $10.50. For teens under the age of 18 working in Chicago, a new minimum wage of $12 for non-tipped employees, and $7.20 for tipped employees is going to become the norm. As of now, in accordance with state law, teenagers under the age of 18 must be paid at least Illinois’ current youth minimum wage of $9.25.